November 16, 2009

This was the day that I fell in love with you.

I wasn’t aware of it yet.

But that was the day, we started.

We were friends, hung out with others,

Until then, it wasn’t remarkable.

 

Then six years ago today I went to the eye doctor.

He put drops in my eyes and I couldn’t drive.

So I went back to school.

You were working late.

And I stopped into your room.

 

We talked for hours.

And when we left, we were different.

Like the first time you tasted chocolate,

Or saw the Grand Canyon.

Or the first time you fell in love.

 

We didn’t know it then, but we were.

I wrote you a poem that night,

The first of many,

About you,

For you.

 

 

Six years ago, I fell in love with you.

One year ago we ended.

Today is the first time since we met

That you are not the most important person in the world to me,

On this day.

 

Next year, I probably won’t remember November 16th

With as much sorrow.

I will have covered up the pain,

With false veneers

And falser words.

 

But this year, I’ll remember,

A poem I wrote a long time ago

Which spoke of threads,

Of hope,

And love.

About oxrider

Mr. Winter has written novels, books of poetry and short stories, and books on acting. He has written over three dozen plays, winning the S.C. Playwright’s Festival. His inventive theatrical work has been seen in the US and Europe. A.F. Winter has been acting, teaching, and directing, for over 30 years. He created a theatre which worked with at-risk youth giving them positive alternatives in their lives. Please visit his website at AFWinter.com. View all posts by oxrider

2 responses to “November 16, 2009

Leave a Reply

