One of those people. April 5, 2016

 

I am one of those people

Who has given up on love.

I never found it

Although I’ve spent most of my life

Looking for it.

I might have found it

But I lost it

Many times and many times again.

 

I thought I had plenty of time

But opportunities flew from me

Like a escaped canary

Through an open window.

I thought it was my friend.

I thought it wanted to stay with me

On my journey.

 

But it was only a bird.

It wasn’t my friend.

It couldn’t give my life value.

It was only a bird.

 

I am one of those people

Who must travel alone

Feeling the weight of my own steps

Getting heavier

Moving slower

Until I step no more.

About oxrider

Mr. Winter has written novels, books of poetry and short stories, and books on acting. He has written over three dozen plays, winning the S.C. Playwright’s Festival. His inventive theatrical work has been seen in the US and Europe. A.F. Winter has been acting, teaching, and directing, for over 30 years. He created a theatre which worked with at-risk youth giving them positive alternatives in their lives. Please visit his website at AFWinter.com. View all posts by oxrider

3 responses to “One of those people. April 5, 2016

Leave a Reply

